SONG OF SAHEL


Image

 

Sometimes being an artist, or creative thinker can really make a difference…

There is an exciting, incredible event happening this week. Something that doesn’t always happen; artists, writers, poets, photographers, musicians all coming together, from around the world; all with one common goal–to support African drought relief.

There is so much suffering in the world…there is so much need and so very little help….you can get so full of anger and frustratioin that you can’t help people in need…I have often felt like that until I was invited to take to part in the Song of Sahel Anthology…

This is the most amazing venture I have ever participated in as a Writer, thus far in my somewhat short-term career.

I am not sure if this has ever been done before. But, too me this is simply amazing. A viral e-book launch, art auction and music download all with one common idea…it is a song for Sahel…
The launch of Song Of Sahel: A poetry anthology involving poets, artists, music and photography from across the world.
Download from AMAZON HERE (link to be posted on 15th)
Find details on our blog. Please go to http://ontheplumtree.wordpress.com/
The event begins at 10am GMT and continues for 48 hours.
The event will be accompanied by a LIVE radio show.
http://www.spreaker.com/show/song_of_sahel
The radio show will begin @ 6pm GMT, 1pm EST, 10am PST, Central Time 12:00…
THE EVENT WILL BE HOSTED ON PLUM TREE BOOKS…to facilitate live twitter feed, links to the web-site and ease of sharing to all your friends. https://www.facebook.com/PlumTreeBooks
There will be traffic directors to help you on the day!!! See you there.
Music available on Juno Download: http://www.junodownload.com/products/give-me-life-song-of-sahel/2034316-02/
http://www.junodownload.com/products/island-of-hope-song-of-sahel/2034317-02/
Art Auction will be hosted on Sunday 16th September: http:www.plumtreebooks.co and will begin @ 6pm GMT, 1pm EST, 10am PST, Central Time 12:00…

The auction will also be linked to the web-site for those who do not frequent FB. Detailed instructions to follow on the day.
http://www.junodownload.com/products/give-me-life-song-of-sahel/2034316-02/
Niamh Clune is a very good friend and colleauge of mine and has been very supportive, this is from her blog ” Song Of Sahel developed because my Plum Tree group of poets responded to hearing about Doug’s activities in Sahel. Wayne Tolbert was the first of the poets to respond by posting a poem of great feeling and beauty in the group. I decided to send out the call across my social networks for poets, musicians, artists and photographers to submit a piece of work encapsulating the feelings of artists. After all! It is the job of the artist to tell it like it is and to speak for the collective soul. Through poetry, soul is exalted, the essence of a thing captured, the extraneous pared away; until all that remains is the polished gem. I urged us to write our poems, express our talent. After all, it is the best we have to give. Poetry is not a luxury but a necessity. It tempers civilizations and keeps them sane.

Plum Tree Books is project orientated. I love projects; they involve collectives and are participatory. Poets had become used to me asking them to submit poetry by way of supporting a cause. The theme for Song Of Sahel was ‘those who have; those who have not.’

“I had been in a British supermarket that day, listening to people complaining about the rain. The English are always complaining about the weather! They won’t mind my saying that. It is a local joke! My shopping moment reminded me of those times, when returning back to the UK after a stay in Africa, I was suddenly confronted, once again, by the reality of an English supermarket, by the choice, extravagance and mind-boggling plenty. I couldn’t help but compare our seeming excesses to where I had just been. That particular day in May, worried about the safety of my husband being in Niger and aware of the reality there, the supermarket scene seemed, once again, incongruous, considering that there are those who die for lack of rain. What would they give for a trip to one of our local supermarkets?
“I had worked in East Africa back in the nineties, during the war-torn years, when I was fortunate enough to do some contracts for Oxfam and UNICEF in my capacity as a psychotherapist. My African experience has always stayed with me; that fascinating and challenging continent holds such a special place in my heart, not least, for the great souls I met there, those humanitarian practitioners engaged in every level of rehabilitation and development”

About jameswfrobertsdapoet

Emerging Poet and Writer. From Bendigo, Victoria, Australia. I present a show called Crazy Talk/Word Berserk, on www.phoenixfm.org.because I believe in what Phoenix has to offer. No where else will you get the diversity of Gospel, Country music shows, Koori themed shows and Poetry and Experimental music? My father, Bryan did a show on 3CCC in the 1980’s called the Keyboard Hour for a bout 8 years, until he died. That is partly why I joined Phoenix but mainly it’s because of the diversity we offer people and also I really do feel that we are an important vehicle, an important voice for the Community at Large. My interests are Poetry, Literature, Music, Movies, Cultural Awareness and Philosophical pursuits. My show is basically a Late Night Radio Show for Artists, Poets, Musicians and Creative Thinkers of all types to come and inform, enjoy, entertain and inspire each other. So join me and my guests from the local Artistic Community to be inspired, to be entertained and informed
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

