WALK INTO MY LIFE


Walk into my life

James WF Roberts

 

Walk into my life
like darkness smothering the sunlight
you sit by me
like it was all so innocent

I feel you your eyes telling me
what I dare not dream to think

 

listen to the wind crashing against the window

is that a warning? Is that a dare?

Hand on thigh
bodies making the most
of the night

who are you, really?
What am I?

Will she know?
Could he ever suspect?

Whose more to blame?

Or is naivety just another way

to say innocence

remembering when you said,

not in so many words, spoke

with indifferent actions

played my last pathetic card,

almost had you…in your mind

I know I had won.

 

But, there are so many sides to victory now.

Friendships rise and fall, prosper and flourish

at the rise and set of the sun

they say the night belongs to lovers

sinners and those begging to be saved…

 

where does that leave you and me?

What dreams become a sour kiss?

What hopes linger on too long

 

what face, what fate?

What joy, what hope

 

I kiss you, I feel her lips

see her face, and lose my soul

inside your eyes

 

melancholic desires

damaged realities

what point is there now?

To carry on with this charade?

Light a cigarette

down another double

of whatever’s left in the cupboard…

burn another image in my mind

watching those haunting tick, tocking of

death watch beetles on the soul

 

lying alone again

track marks down the arms of joy

lingering joy fades in the shadows

 

you, her, him, me,

us, them, we—what decision am I supposed to make now?

Fuck.

What hope, what loss, what consequences

aim to tear away the hope and the joy

 

Walk into my life

accidental

slithering outta my bed

running away from compromise

blood trickles down my body again

was that from you or from me?

 

Day light now and the dreams are silent

moon is hiding and the promise lays dormant

 

where does that leave you and me?

What dreams become a sour kiss?

What hopes linger on too long

 

what face, what fate?

What joy, what hope

 

I kiss you, I feel her lips

see her face, and lose my soul

inside your eyes

 

Walk into my life

accidental

slithering outta my bed

running away from compromise

blood trickles down my body again

was that from you or from me?

About jameswfrobertsdapoet

Emerging Poet and Writer. From Bendigo, Victoria, Australia. I present a show called Crazy Talk/Word Berserk, on www.phoenixfm.org.because I believe in what Phoenix has to offer. No where else will you get the diversity of Gospel, Country music shows, Koori themed shows and Poetry and Experimental music? My father, Bryan did a show on 3CCC in the 1980’s called the Keyboard Hour for a bout 8 years, until he died. That is partly why I joined Phoenix but mainly it’s because of the diversity we offer people and also I really do feel that we are an important vehicle, an important voice for the Community at Large. My interests are Poetry, Literature, Music, Movies, Cultural Awareness and Philosophical pursuits. My show is basically a Late Night Radio Show for Artists, Poets, Musicians and Creative Thinkers of all types to come and inform, enjoy, entertain and inspire each other. So join me and my guests from the local Artistic Community to be inspired, to be entertained and informed
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WALK INTO MY LIFE

  1. Rashma N. Kalsie says:

    Great stuff, James! Soured loves, sore heart, make good verse. I loved the play of words.

Leave a Reply

