Rose ( a new dark Romantic poem)


Rose

James WF Roberts

 

the touch of flesh upon my lips
the desperate longing for finger tips

lying in the sand, for far too long
wandering now

where do the dreams belong?

Alone in the night
I see your eyes burning

through the darkness
the wind howls
curtains dance with candelit
shadows

wine, woman,song

clouds overhead
as I travel through this never
ending forest, unearthly delights

memories; loves, hates, friends, families
frozen statues in the courtyard of the mind
my aged hands, creeping along my decaying face

the garden littered with a thousand corpses
of hardly forgotten (long suffering) indiscretions
failed promises, dismal resolutions

Aimlessly, I meander this ancient house
too big, far too quiet for the misery I feel now

Rose petals litter the fraying carpet
a shimmer of light darts off in the distance
see your shadow on the wall

dancing naked in the firelight
images flickering off the projector,
feet landing in snake-like piles on the floor
sounds from that night still haunt me
in this ancient, stuffy, lingering house

the party the laughter
the wine

my secret dance in the dark with your best friend
how I would have known, back then?
That night would be our would be our last?

Oh, my God.

That look upon your face from the door
as you caught us in the middle of that bitter sweet embrace

that sickly Rose, you planted, nursed back to health

the dreams of the young man, realities of life
and the tortures of desires
burn me, worse than the torches of hellfire

The stormy night,
my faulty breaks,
as you ran out into the darkness

why did I chase you
to forgive? Forget? Explain?

I can still see the trees jumping out at me
the forked prongs of God’s wrath
burning, disintergrating all around us…

blinded by the ligthning

I didn’t see you when I slammed
on the breaks
a thud, a screech,

last thing I remember
was those Rose petals
dancing through the sky
in the chasm of my broken windshield

the tree snapping across…
your rewards Elysium fields

 my punishment
this night,
that night
my life repeating
like a needle scratching a record

over and over again…

will you ever forgive me Rose?

 

 

About jameswfrobertsdapoet

Emerging Poet and Writer. From Bendigo, Victoria, Australia. I present a show called Crazy Talk/Word Berserk, on www.phoenixfm.org.because I believe in what Phoenix has to offer. No where else will you get the diversity of Gospel, Country music shows, Koori themed shows and Poetry and Experimental music? My father, Bryan did a show on 3CCC in the 1980’s called the Keyboard Hour for a bout 8 years, until he died. That is partly why I joined Phoenix but mainly it’s because of the diversity we offer people and also I really do feel that we are an important vehicle, an important voice for the Community at Large. My interests are Poetry, Literature, Music, Movies, Cultural Awareness and Philosophical pursuits. My show is basically a Late Night Radio Show for Artists, Poets, Musicians and Creative Thinkers of all types to come and inform, enjoy, entertain and inspire each other. So join me and my guests from the local Artistic Community to be inspired, to be entertained and informed
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rose ( a new dark Romantic poem)

  1. Lindsey says:

    Hello https://jameswfrobertsdapoet.wordpress.com/2012/06/14/rose-a-new-dark-romantic-poem/ admin. I came to your “Rose ( a new dark Romantic poem) | Jameswfrobertsdapoet's Blog” page via Google but it was difficult to find as you were not on the front page of search results. This means you are missing out on a ton of web traffic from Google. I have found a website which offers to dramatically increase your rankings and traffic to your site: http://www.linklegends.com/7-day-free-trial. They managed to get close to 1000 visitors/day using their services, you could also get lot more targeted visitors from search engines than you have now. I used their services and got significantly more visitors to my site. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care.

Leave a Reply

